Rudolf Steiner Branch - Chicago

4249 North Lincoln Avenue, Chicago, IL 60618

Welcome!

Click gray headings to expand...

About the Branch

Greetings and Welcome to the website of The Rudolf Steiner Branch of the Anthroposophical Society.  We are located near the bustling Lincoln Square neighborhood in ChicagoMap

We have a rich life here at the branch, with many study groups and ongoing events which are listed below.

Programs, Festivals and Special events are in the column to the right. 

In the LINKS section below find past zoom webinar recordings.

Due to the current world situation many events are online, so we have added a new feature at the bottom of this page: ANTHROPOSOPHY WORLD WIDE, listing initiatives from groups and branches around the world that you can join. 

The History of the Rudolf Steiner Group in Chicagofrom Henry Barnes book "Into the Hearts Land, Rudolf Steiner's work in North America."

Do you have a desire to serve & share your gifts? Be an active member of the Community! There are many things that need to happen to keep the branch life alive. contact Info@remove-this.RSchicago.remove-this.org 

If you want to be added to our email list to recieve notices about upcoming events contact Info@remove-this.RSchicago.remove-this.org 

Donations & Dues

The Branch is now accepting dues payments & donations through paypal. You may also use ChaseQuickPay with Zelle if you prefer. 

Please include a note as to what the payment is for.

Thank you for your support.

Special Events

Click on headings to expand...

All events take place at the Rudolf Steiner Branch, 4249 North Lincoln Avenue, Chicago, IL 60618 except as noted.

May 8 - 1pm CT - What is an "Electron“?

May 8, Saturday,

1:00 – 3:00 PM CT USA,

2:00 PM ET (US, Canada)
1:00 PM CT (US, Canada)
11:00 AM PT (US, Canada) 

What is an "Electron“?

Zoom presentation by Johannes Kühl,

Switzerland, Dornach, Goetheanum, Natural Science Section of the Free School of Spiritual Science.

If we hear the question „What is an electron?" most of us will think of a small particle with negative electric charge - and so on. It’s interesting though that for the physicist it is much more difficult to answer the question what it really is. - For a scientist with anthroposophical interest it is then a challenge to find out how to approach this question: Is there a Goetheanistic approach? And an anthroposophic approach? - In this lecture we will try to explore this question, probably without a definite answer.

Join Zoom Meeting
https://zoom.us/j/91392849302

Dial by your location
        +1 312 626 6799 US (Chicago)
Meeting ID: 913 9284 9302
Find your local number: https://zoom.us/u/acl857rGgo

Suggested donation is $15.00 ,

payment via PayPal or

with your credit/debit card

Important: please type "J. Kuhl" 

on the first line of your payment application!!!

 To make your payment, please, 

 follow the link https://donate.rschicago.org/

Johannes Kühl, born 1953 in Germany, studied physics in Hamburg and Göttingen. After one year of research at the science section at the Goetheanum he taught physics, chemistry and mathematics at the Waldorf school Stuttgart Uhlandshöhe. From 1996 to 2020 he was the leader of the science section at the Goetheanum and a member of the collegium of the school of spiritual science where he still works. His research interests are goetheanistic physics, the understanding of quantum physics, the relation of technology and human culture – and Anthroposophy.

The event is organized by the program committee of the Chicago Rudolf Steiner Branch.

 For more information, please, contact

 Andrei Onegin at aonegin@remove-this.rschicago.remove-this.org 

May 13 - 7pm CT - Living into the Spheres of Cosmic Life and Cosmic Light: Easter, Ascension, Whitsun

Living into the Spheres of Cosmic Life and Cosmic Light: Easter, Ascension, Whitsun in the Calendar of the Soul  with Luigi Morelli, Hazel Archer and Geoff Norris – Zoom Host Frank Agrama

 

13 May 2021 Ascension Thursday 5- 6:30pm PT / 6-7:30 pm MT / 7 pm – 8:30 pm CT / 8-9:30 pm ET / 1 am – 2:30 am GMT / 2 am – 3:30 am CET

Join Zoom meeting: https://zoom.us/j/7052931041?pwd=TStPVnpFRzlwZ0NpRURBZDNyYnpBQT09 

Meeting ID: 705 293 1041 – Passcode: Ascension

Find your local number: https://zoom.us/u/a961qZZhF

Welcome – Frank Agrama

Verse #6 – Geoff Norris

Ascension: The Secret Teachings, The Elementals, & The Etheric Christ – Hazel Archer

Calendar of the Soul – Luigi Morelli

For those who are familiar with the Calendar of the Soul we could say that during spring and summer we follow the ascent of cosmic life, cosmic light, cosmic warmth and cosmic Word as gifts bestowed upon the human being by the cosmos. By being receptive to them we strengthen our connection to cosmos and Self.

We will briefly explore the dynamics of the year, then look at what qualities of soul we need to develop as we move into spring and summer, most particularly from Easter to Ascension and Whitsun. We will look at the verses of the calendar in conjunction with the artistic renditions of Anne Stockton and Karl König, drawn for each of the verses.

We will ask ourselves: How can we live into and grow from this time of the year? How can we deepen our inner relationship to the event of Ascension? What can we receive and what can we give?

Break-out Groups

Group Speech Work with Geoff Norris

Angels, in the early morning
May be seen the Dews among,
Stooping — plucking — smiling — flying —
Do the Buds to them belong?”

~Emily Dickenson

Closing Thoughts – Hazel Archer

May 15 - 1pm CT - From Land Stewardship to Climate Stewardship

 May 15, Saturday,

1:00-3:00 pm CT,

2:00 PM ET (US, Canada)
11:00 AM PT (US, Canada)
19:00 London, UK
20:00 Berlin, Germany
20:00 South Africa
21:00 Moscow, Russia
8:00 AM Honolulu, Hawaii

next day, 4:00 AM Sydney, Australia,
next day, 6:00 AM, Wellington, NZ

From Land Stewardship to Climate Stewardship

zoom presentation by Ueli Hurter, Head of Agriculture Section, Vorstand Member.

Zoom Meeting  

https://us06web.zoom.us/j/85426677340
Dial by your location +1 312 626 6799 US (Chicago)
Meeting ID: 854 2667 7340 

Find your local number: https://us06web.zoom.us/u/kbrvZNkqcQ

 

Suggested donation is $15.00 ,

 payment via PayPal or

with your credit/debit card

Important: please type "U. Hurter" 

on the first line of your payment application!!!

 To make your payment, please, 

 follow the link https://donate.rschicago.org/ 

 

Ueli Hurter

* 1961 IN SWITZERLAND

Until 2020, biodynamic farmer at the Ferme-Fromagerie de L'Aubier and in the management of L'Aubier, with an eco-hotel, organic restaurant, café-hotel, eco-living area, an associative company. He is married and has three children. 1997 to 2010 president of the Swiss Demeter Association and since 2002 member of the board of the International Biodynamic Association (IBDA). Co-leader of the Agriculture Section since 2010. Member of the board of the General Anthroposophical Society since 2020.

The event is organized by the program committee of the Chicago Rudolf Steiner Branch.

 For more information, please, contact

 Andrei Onegin at aonegin@remove-this.rschicago.remove-this.org 

May 16 - 2pm CT - Disciples and Apostles: What does the journey from Easter to Whitsun mean for us today?

May 16, Sunday

20:00 hours London time
21:00 Berlin, Germany
23:00 Moscow, Russia
3:00 PM ET (US, Canada)
2:00 PM CT (US, Canada)
12:00 PM PT (US, Canada)
10:00 AM Honolulu, Hawaii

next day, 7:00 AM Sydney, Australia,
next day, 9:00 AM, Wellington, NZ

Disciples and Apostles: What does the journey from Easter to Whitsun mean for us today?

zoom presentation by Andrew Wolpert, UK

 

$ 15 suggested donations:

Important: 

please type "A.Wolpert" in your PayPal payment application.

To make your payment follow the link:

http://donate.rschicago.org/

 

Join Zoom Meeting
https://us06web.zoom.us/j/82869877834

Dial by your location
        +1 312 626 6799 US (Chicago)
Meeting ID: 828 6987 7834
Find your local number: https://us06web.zoom.us/u/kdka0ChWFL

 

Limited by 500 participants.

The lecture will be recorded.

 

Andrew Wolpert worked for 17 years at Emerson, for 9 years at the Waldorf Teacher training at the University in Stuttgart and has been giving courses, seminars and lectures on various aspects of Anthroposophy, literature, art history, Parzival and Shakespeare in Britain, Europe, Australia and Asia.

Event is organized by  the Program Committee of the Chicago Rudolf Steiner Branch, USA.

For more information Contact Andrei Onegin aonegin@remove-this.rschicago.remove-this.org

 

May 23 - 1pm CT - Sangraal: A Pentecost Pilgrimage & Whitsun Festival

Sangraal: A Pentecost Pilgrimage & Whitsun Festival with the Central Regional Council an experiential ‘Pageant’ written by Hazel Archer, taking us on a Quest from The Cauldron of Ceridwen, to The Holy Grail, & into The Sacred Vessel of the Sophia.

Join us on Whitsunday 23 May 2021, at 11 am PT / 12 noon MT / 1 pm – 2:30 pm CT / 2 pm ET / 8 pm CET

Join Zoom Meeting https://us02web.zoom.us/j/81181550712 Meeting ID: 811 8155 0712

Dial by your location  
Meeting ID: 811 8155 0712
Find your local number: https://us02web.zoom.us/u/kBw1EgrIR

After working with Karma & Reincarnation for 3 years the CRC has chosen a new Theme: ‘The Mysteries of the Holy Grail, from Arthur and Parzival to Modern Initiation’

You are also invited to get the Book & Join us for study sessions through out the year as well. contact Alberto Loya aloyavaca@remove-this.utexas.remove-this.edu for more info.

May 29 - 12pm CT - Psyche healing out of spirit: spiritual and scientific basis of anthroposophical psychology.

May 29, Saturday, 

12:00 – 2:00 PM CT USA, 

1:00 PM ET (US, Canada)
12:00 PM CT (US, Canada)
1000 AM PT (US, Canada)

Psyche healing out of spirit: spiritual and scientific basis of anthroposophical psychology.

Zoom presentation by Tatiana Pavlova, Rostov-on-Don, RUSSIA.
 

Join Zoom Meeting
https://us06web.zoom.us/j/84447116034

Dial by your location
        +1 312 626 6799 US (Chicago)
Meeting ID: 844 4711 6034
Find your local number: https://us06web.zoom.us/u/kdGz2Z8pGN

 

Suggested donation is $15.00 ,

 payment via PayPal or

with your credit/debit card

Important: please type "Tatiana P." 

on the first line of your payment application!!!

 To make your payment, please, 

 follow the link https://donate.rschicago.org/ 

 

Tatiana Pavlova is an international speaker that has been on the path of Anthroposophy for over 25 years, she also has her professional activities lying in the field of psychotherapy and art therapy. She actively lectures across Russia, Australia and Europe, advises individuals and leads anthroposophical and professionals educational workshops and courses. She is a founder and one of the lecturers of long-term courses on Waldorf early childhood pedagogy, anthroposophically oriented psychology/ psychotherapy, biography counselling and art therapy in Rostov-on-Don, Novosibirsk, Sydney and Serbia. As a psychotherapist, she works with a wide range of issues from the questions of inner development and interpersonal relationships to the correction of addictions and healing personality disorders.

 

The event is organized by the program committee of the Chicago Rudolf Steiner Branch.

 For more information, please, contact

 Andrei Onegin at aonegin@remove-this.rschicago.remove-this.org 

Jun 19 - 1pm CT - What is the importance of light for our health?

June 19, Saturday,

1:00-3:00 pm CT,

2:00 PM ET (US, Canada)
11:00 AM PT (US, Canada)
19:00 London, UK
20:00 Berlin, Germany
20:00 South Africa
21:00 Moscow, Russia
8:00 AM Honolulu, Hawaii

next day, 4:00 AM Sydney, Australia,
next day, 6:00 AM, Wellington, NZ

What is the importance of light for our health? Effectiveness of the sun and the healing powers of inner development and meditation

zoom presentation by Matthias Girke MD, Head of Medical  Section, Vorstand Member.

„Our relationship to the light and the sun determines health and enlivens the human soul and spirit. The outer light is met by the inner light of the human being. What is the significance of develloping the inner light through the meditative path of anthroposophy and the encounter with the light of the sun for the health?“

 

The event is organized by the program committee of the Chicago Rudolf Steiner Branch.

 For more information, please, contact

 Andrei Onegin at aonegin@remove-this.rschicago.remove-this.org 

 

Join Zoom Meeting
https://us06web.zoom.us/j/84521852652

Dial by your location
        +1 312 626 6799 US (Chicago)
Meeting ID: 845 2185 2652
Find your local number: https://us06web.zoom.us/u/kCilG6hkw

 

Suggested donation is $15.00 ,

 payment via PayPal or

with your credit/debit card

Important: please type "M. Girke" 

on the first line of your payment application!!!

 To make your payment, please, 

 follow the link https://donate.rschicago.org/ 

 

Limited by 500 participants.

The lecture will be recorded.

&nbs

Matthias Girke MD

DR. MED. MATTHIAS GIRKE IS A SPECIALIST IN INTERNAL MEDICINE, DIABETOLOGY AND PALLIATIVE MEDICINE.

HE CO-FOUNDED THE HOSPITAL FOR ANTHROPOSOPHIC MEDICINE GEMEINSCHAFTSKRANKENHAUS HAVELHÖHE IN BERLIN, GERMANY, WHERE HE WAS HEAD OF INTERNAL MEDICINE FOR 21 YEARS.

HE CONTINUES TO SERVE AS A CONSULTANT AND ADVISOR AND ALSO SEES OUTPATIENTS THERE.

HE IS A MEMBER OF THE EXECUTIVE COUNCIL OF THE GENERAL ANTHROPOSOPHICAL SOCIETY AND SINCE 2016 HEAD OF THE MEDICAL SECTION OF THE SCHOOL OF SPIRITUAL SCIENCE AT THE GOETHEANUM IN DORNACH, SWITZERLAND.